Hawaii Seller of Travel Law
Hawaii’s seller of travel law requires all persons “who act as an intermediary between a person seeking to purchase 0travel services and any person seeking to sell travel services” must register with the Travel Agent Licensing Program. Travel agencies and charter tour operators that reside in Hawaii must register at the end of each odd-numbered year. A fee of $140 is assessed for 2 years. Out of state sellers need to apply for a Certificate of Authority to do business in the state of Hawaii at a cost of $25 per year. Hawaii also requires sellers of travel services to maintain a trust account in a federally insured institution located in Hawaii as a financial security requirement. For details on all requirements and to request a registration application contact the Department of Commerce and Consumer Affairs.
Here is a link to a .pdf copy of the law
Key Contact for Registration Information:
Travel Agent Licensing Program
Department of Commerce & Consumer Affairs
1010 Richards St.
Honolulu, Hawaii 96813
Telephone: (808) 586-3000
Fax: (808) 586-2689